Tech Gadgets & Smart Devices

Smart Plug Energy Monitoring: What It Actually Tells You

An energy monitoring smart plug provides you with two pieces of information: how much power is currently being consumed by the appliance connected to it and how much energy that appliance has consumed since being plugged into the smart plug. The app for the smart plug collects this information and creates a history of your use of that appliance, along with providing you with an estimated cost of electricity based upon your rate once you enter it into the app. Therefore, you cannot see anything else in your home using the app.

What you need to be aware of regarding the energy monitoring smart plug is that the clean, precise numbers produced by the plug are estimates based on a series of hardware and software processes which will create inaccuracies and anomalies in the data collected by the smart plug at every point along the way. In fact, similar to how the U.S. Department of Energy categorizes electricity by instantaneous power and cumulative kilowatts (kWh) over time, misreading electricity over time is where most errors arise from the combining of these two measurements. Therefore, what is never made clear by the app is what the actual measurement of the plug is, and what measurements it fails to capture. The U.S. Energy Information Administration’s electricity basics draws the line the same way — power at a moment versus energy over time — and mixing the two is where most misreadings start.

What Smart Plug Energy Monitoring Measures—and What It Misses

Smart plugs are designed to monitor and report how much electrical energy (power) is being consumed by the equipment plugged into the smart plug in real time and how much total electrical energy is consumed over a specific period of time. Smart plugs only measure power being consumed by items plugged into them.

Inside the smart plug, there are sensing devices which measure the current and voltage flowing to the item plugged into the smart plug, the intelligent circuitry in the smart plug takes the measured current and voltage and computes the total power being consumed (the actual watts). When monitoring AC loads, power measurement practices require the use of the power factor of the load in order to compute actual power. Therefore, the information found in Yokogawa’s Power Measurement Primer states that the total power measured in watts is computed as volts multiplied by amps multiplied by power factor, rather than simply volts multiplied by amps.

The total amount of electrical energy consumed over a given time period is referred to as energy, the number that subsequently appears in the application as kilowatt hours. To put it another way, the EIA’s Electricity Basics Publication makes a clear distinction; watts represent the amount of power consumed at any point in time, while watt hours refer to how much power has been consumed over a specified time frame.

After you’ve rated your appliances in EnergySage, they will be compiled into a history with cost estimates based on ratings you’ve provided. While there are many things happening between your Smart Plug (what’s actually measuring power) and your home, no information about those things is reported back to the Smart Plug. Additionally, Smart Plugs do not provide any information about how the energy consumption of a room, a circuit, or a whole house affects the energy consumption of your appliances. The boundaries established by the Smart Plug Overview are identical to the boundaries of the ability to monitor/control an appliance through the Smart Plug. Electricity supplied to other devices that use hardwired or 240-volt connections (for example, dryers, ranges, and HVACs) never touches Smart Plugs. A reading (or a rate) of the energy consumption from a plug-in appliance is not communicated back to the circuit or the outlet the plug is plugged into. Therefore, an individual appliance will never cross behind the boundary of the plug.

Three kinds of plug get confused here, and they are not the same instrument:

  • An on/off-only smart plug switches the outlet but measures nothing; it can’t report watts or kWh because the metering hardware isn’t there.
  • A runtime tracker reports hours-on; hours multiplied by a nameplate wattage is an estimate, not a measurement.
  • A monitoring plug measures power and accumulates energy by itself — but even then, capability in the hardware isn’t the same as data in the app. In the SmartThings community, one buyer’s new plug paired as a generic switch and its metering features never appeared, while other plugs lost their energy reporting after a platform change.

A monitoring plug measures only what passes through its own outlet — it is an observer of one device, not a meter for the home.

Everything the app shows later — graphs, totals, cost — is built on that one-outlet measurement, so the plug’s blind spots become the data’s blind spots.

Watts, Volts, Amps, and kWh Answer Different Questions

When you open up a monitor app, you will see multiple values, varying from four to five. These values might seem interchangeable, at first glance, but they all answer different questions; and by looking at the wrong number, you can make a 1,500 W space heater appear to be inexpensive due to its very low kWh total.

Reading What it actually answers What it won’t tell you
Volts (V) Is the outlet supplying normal line voltage? Nothing about consumption or cost
Amps (A) How much current the device is pulling now Power on its own — amps × volts isn’t watts for AC loads
Watts (W) How hard the device is working right now Anything about how long it ran or what it cost
Kilowatt-hours (kWh) How much energy accumulated over time Whether the device was working hard or barely idling

Once the units are defined, relationships become simpler. 1 kW = 1,000 W; 1 kWh = 1 kW operated for 1 hour. Doing the math and taking into account the time dimension, we see that a 0.1 kW television requires 10 hours to reach 1 kWh, whereas it would take a 2.5 kW air conditioning unit less than a half hour.

You cannot simply multiply volts and amps to find watts because of AC circuits. The current will not peak in the same instant as the voltage, and by multiplying voltage and current you create volt-amps (VA, or imaginary power), but the actual watts consumed by a device are volts x amps x a power factor from between 0-1, as described in Yokogawa’s power measurement primer.

In comparison with a resistive heater, where power factor is almost 1, the above process works fairly well as a shortcut. But, with devices such as motors, compressors, and switch-mode power supplies, the power factor will typically be less than 1, which is why a plug reading 8 amps at 120 volts does not always indicate that the load is consuming 960 watts and two apps can provide different readings.

Here’s another measurement that appears to be off, watt ratings on appliances. The maximum load for an appliance is represented by the nameplate wattage as per the University of Alaska Fairbanks’ appliance-energy guide, but this does not reflect an appliance’s actual use; an example being a refrigerator rated at 400W will draw only 80W when not running and will momentarily draw 400W when the compressor starts. The only way to see a plug’s value is to chart it for a single day. You’ll see it as a duty cycle, not as an instant wattage.

Also, be sure to verify the unit you’re evaluating by looking at it. In the SmartThings community, an owner discovered that the plug’s power usage counter was measuring watt-hours, meaning that it needed to be divided by 1,000 to convert to kilowatt-hours (kWh). The graph it generated showed almost 1,000 times the expected value, because the unit of measurement was incorrect.

What you should consider when evaluating appliances is the type of information you’re looking for: Watts indicate how much power is being consumed at the present time, kilowatt-hours indicate how much power has been consumed over time, and volts and amps should only be consulted for the purpose of checking either the power supply or the plug’s rating.

How an App Turns Readings Into Energy History and Cost

Your mobile application does not serve as a simple, passive presentation layer for your smart plug. Rather, the app functions as a manufacturing centre and performs three different functions on all of the same underlying data readings, each with different levels of trust associated to it.

For starters, the accumulated meter total. The vast majority of monitoring plugs have been designed to integrate their respective electric power consumption over the course of time into an accumulated KWh reading internally via a calculation (the exact same calculation) that Yokogawa demonstrates in its Primer, whereby total energy consumed over the course of time is the preferred method of measuring energy when dealing with fluctuating loads. However, there are setups in which no direct KWh measurement exists, whereby KWh is created from the power readings that are produced. As an example, an owner in the Home Assistant community stated that “the integration only provides momentary power readings, not cumulative power consumption,” and as a result, Home Assistant had to create its own integrated KWh path. A direct graph of measured (from the device) vs. derived (from software) KWh will visually appear the same; however, they represent distinctly different forms of evidence.

The Second form of evidence is the history chart view, which represents the same data but in a series of defined time buckets. The TP-Link Tapo Energy Monitor Manual has documented the time bucket definitions as follows: Last week – hourly buckets; previous three months – daily buckets; previous year – monthly buckets; and a live graph of instantaneous power readings in 5-minute or 1-hour buckets, with an instantaneous refresh every five seconds. There is nothing wrong with this format of data presentation. The issue arises when an individual comparing a jagged view of an hourly day’s worth of data to the flat monthly view assumes that some sort of operational change occurred in the monitoring plug, resulting in it “behaving differently” during March.

Next, the cost number is an estimate on top of an estimate. Tapo calculates this number as consumption multiplied by the rate; on fixed-rate plans, this is the only formula used. On time-of-use plans, the Tapo cost number is calculated as the sum of the peak, mid-peak and off-peak prices multiplied by their corresponding usage. This is an estimated cost for reference purposes. The actual cost will depend on your electric provider.

The EIA’s rate FAQ on rates points to the other side of the same issue; it does not provide published retail rate schedules for any of the utility providers since it is up to each electric provider to develop its own rate schedule. The EIA’s price data also demonstrates how much variance there is among various retail tariffs. As of 2025, the residential average nationally is 17.30 cents per kilowatt-hour (kWh), while the price in North Dakota is 8.20 cents and the price in Hawaii is 35.72 cents per kWh. Therefore, if a cost screen is working off the wrong rate (i.e., it has a high degree of precision and confidence), then it is most likely inaccurate.

As an example of a calculation only, the EIA’s chart of a 40 W lamp burning for 5 hours = 0.20 kWh. Based on an assumed price of 20 cents/kWh, this would yield $0.04 worth of energy. In addition to the cost of energy, a utility bill would include other fixed costs, riders, and taxes that the Tapo plug’s screen would not account for.

Worksheet field What you record
Device and operating mode What was measured, and on which setting
Start and end time The exact observation window
Beginning and ending cumulative kWh From the same counter, same unit
Period energy End minus start, or the app’s period total
Applicable rate window Fixed, peak, mid-peak, or off-peak
Your utility’s rate Dollars per kWh, from your own bill or tariff
Energy-only cost Period kWh × applicable rate
Comparable cycles Used only after several representative cycles
Conditions Settings, weather, firmware or app changes, interruptions

For time-varying rates, the same math runs per window: estimated energy charge = Σ (kWh in each rate window × that window’s rate).

The app’s cost screen is an energy-only estimate with your rate plugged in — not a preview of your utility bill.

Get the three products straight — measured total, re-sliced history, rate-based estimate — and the app’s numbers stop bluffing about what they are.

Why Sampling, Refresh Rates, and History Can Hide Short Events

The current watt reading shown on screen appears to give the impression of an exact representation of actual resistance in the moment. However, in actuality, this is merely the final result of running a relay race, where at any point in time, any of the individuals passing the baton may experience a lapse in performance.

  1. The plug’s meter samples the load internally — how often is rarely published.
  2. The plug reports over its network on its own schedule — every second on some models, every 30 or 60 on others, every five minutes on the worst.
  3. The app refreshes its live view — TP-Link documents a five-second refresh for current power.
  4. The history graph re-buckets whatever arrived — 5-minute or hourly power points, and hourly, daily, or monthly energy views depending on range.
  5. Retention decides what survives — Emporia’s data documentation keeps 1-second data for about three hours, 1-minute data for seven days, 15-minute data for a year, and only the aggregates long-term.

Different properties characterize each stage of smart plug definitions and this is what causes the majority of the confusion concerning “my plug missed.” In the Home Assistant community, one owner had an excellent way to ask the appropriate question: “Are you asking about high sample rate or high update rate?” Internal sampling of the meter versus the frequency of updates that are revealed is a separate criterion for purchasing a product when there is no mention of either rate on the product website.

Another study conducted in 2023 was published in the journal e-Prime as a peer-reviewed analysis – A Cautionary Note on Using Smart Plugs for Research Data Acquisition, compared five energy monitoring smart plugs to laboratory instrumentation at various data rates (0.01 – 2 Hz). All five plugs generated errors in both power and energy readings and in all but one case at an average lag in report time from true load of 3 to 6 seconds with some lags exceeding 20 seconds. Steady loads were much easier to track accurately. One note of caution regarding generalizing results from this study: the results from this testing were specific to the conditions of this study and the model of the plug used, not an error rate to be used across all plugs and all appliances.

The owners experienced the same issue with their plugs when they tested them outside of the lab, indicating a broader issue with the design of these products. In addition, the owner of the 3,000 Watt (3 kW) load, which fired for only five seconds at a time, reported that his plugs “captured less than 50% of the actual power draw,” while the 7 Watt (7 W) valve would never register at all. The discussion continued on another thread related to Home Assistant, where an automation user reported that one of his plugs only reported wattage every five minutes, making it impossible for him to trigger anything using that information in a meaningful timeframe. Specifically, a five-second event inside a five-minute bucket does not provide enough granularity to trigger the automation.

A fast-refreshing live number tells you nothing about how the history underneath it was built.

As you go through these stats, remember to compare each number with its chain. Look at total energy usage with respect to full cycles (the most reliable way to view a very cheap digital energy meter), and if you see a spike or flat line on a bucketed chart, use this info as one of many pieces of evidence — not a number that you can use as the basis for a measurement.

What the Numbers Can Suggest—but Cannot Prove

Energy data answers input questions beautifully. It just keeps getting asked output questions — and it can’t see across that gap.

The numbers can suggest The numbers cannot prove
Whether a device is on, off, or cycling Why it changed state
How settings compare (eco vs. normal) Which setting is genuinely more efficient
A standby or base-load pattern What those watts are doing
Approximate energy per cycle, over repeated cycles Billing-grade energy for that cycle
A change worth investigating A diagnosis of what’s failing

A sick refrigerator typically causes an increase in power draw that is visible in the live wattage of a compressor’s cycling; an energy-monitoring site like the Centre for Sustainable Energy provides this as an example of “the best way to see what happens when all your electric devices are turned on” (watch), therefore, if you see a value that has an average spike of 85W on a typical basis, it might warrant further inspection. But in reality, this pattern could correspond to a multitude of different scenarios: a dirty condenser, broken door seal, ambient temperature rise, or a thermostat that was set for an overall lower temperature. Therefore, the technician must look into the reason for the increase, not just the meter reading.

The e-Prime study examined this issue in a controlled environment and is an example of how this meter will always provide an indication of what has been input, and it does not accurately measure this signal under conditions of variable load due to the switching of the power supply on and off. Therefore, not every increase in consumed energy signals a centralised flaw.

Efficiency is identical to the above-mentioned lab condition, but it is also the same deception with different attire. The difference in efficiency is derived from calculating the amount of cooling produced, the volume of water produced using electric heater devices, or the volume of clothes dried. And even though electric meters show the amount of energy consumed by a device, the input of both will be very different when measured after the device’s normal operational cycle of time.

Then there’s the discovery of savings. When you monitor your usage, you can see a pattern – only by changing your behavior (or equipment) in a measurable way can you see if you’re saving. From the Palmetto smart plug guide, this simple sentence describes the limitation of smart plugs: “Smart plugs do not conserve electricity or money on their own.” The savings come from the way you use the smart plugs to change how you run your home. The fact that you had a lower total kWh use after you adjusted the schedule for your dehumidifier is proof of savings. It does not come from just having the app on your phone.

Two more things that cannot be determined from the numbers. You cannot tell if the load is safe (i.e. one SmartThings community member thought that the plugs rated at 15 amps were sufficient for his refrigerators), and the only way to determine this is by checking the specific model’s rating label, not in the app. And the plug does not reconcile to your bill — the plug is measuring one device, while the bill is measuring all of the circuits at your tariff, with a cost that varies widely from location to location, according to the EIA.

So when you look at the numbers objectively, they are honest and useful. But when you read them subjectively, they tell a story that you created for yourself, with a graph attached.

How to Measure a Device Safely Across a Full Operating Cycle

Measuring a device properly takes one careful minute of setup and a week of patience. Doing it wrong takes about thirty seconds and usually involves a space heater.

  1. Check the exact plug’s ratings for your region and load type. US models run on 120 V/60 Hz, and the fine print distinguishes load types: TP-Link’s Tapo P110M page rates 15 A/1,800 W for general or resistive loads but only 1/6 HP for motors, while Emporia’s plug documentation sets 10 A continuous against a 15 A peak of one hour per day. A “15 A plug” is not automatically suitable for every 15 A appliance — compressor startup draw is a different animal from running draw.
  2. Read the appliance’s own manual for switching permission. Some devices shouldn’t be power-switched remotely at all, and Emporia flatly warns against using its plugs on refrigerators, freezers, medical and pet equipment, and networking gear where a power cut causes harm.
  3. Plug the smart plug directly into a fixed wall receptacle. ESFI’s cord-safety guidance is blunt: multiple plug outlets must plug directly into mounted receptacles and cannot be chained together. No plug-into-strip-into-plug towers.
  4. Measure complete, representative cycles — a full day or week for a fridge (its compressor cycles), a full wash for a washer, several normal evenings for a TV. One watt snapshot is a mood, not a measurement.
  5. Repeat under similar settings and record the conditions — settings, room temperature, anything unusual — and trust the accumulated kWh over any single reading.
  6. Export or note the data before resetting anything, then repeat if the number looks off.

A plug is a temporary measuring instrument here, not a permanent appliance mount — if it or the cord runs hot, smells, discolors, or sparks, it comes out of the wall, and CPSC’s electrical-safety guidance says the same about damaged equipment.

Anything that is associated with the panel, the wiring, or involves a 240 V circuit is no longer considered plug-in business, but rather, it falls under the purview of a licensed electrician. This is further supported in the same CPSC pamphlet that states to “Hire a licensed electrician for anything electrical in the home.” This statement appears next to the recommendation to never overload outlets.

How to Check a Reading That Looks Wrong

The majority of times you see a reading that does not appear correct, the last part of the system to fail would typically be the meter itself. Before that point, the entire display chain (unit, window, bucket, counter, firmware) will usually fail first, all of which would be free and simple to check.

Begin with the unexciting and mundane explanations of what you see. One owner of a plug found out after careful examination that his totals, which he thought were “wildly wrong,” were his watt-hours presented as kilowatt-hours, thus leading to a unit mismatch, not a dead sensor. In the TP-Link community, there is a thread regarding the P110M that discusses an issue in the opposite direction — while the current power readings were right on the mark, the amount of energy accumulated was under 0.001 kWh, the runtime was zero, and only after multiple factory resets did the counter return to recording — but it was another 30 minutes before it could display the last 30 minutes of recorded time. The firmware/ reset sequence / migration upgrades could have erased or stalled time in the history while the current number was fine.

Run this sequence before you doubt the meter:

  • Confirm the units — W vs. kW, Wh vs. kWh — on both the reading and the graph axis.
  • Confirm the graph’s date range, time zone, and aggregation interval.
  • Check whether the number is a live value, an accumulated counter, a derived total, or runtime only.
  • Check whether energy data was reset, deleted, or interrupted by a firmware or app change.
  • Compare complete, repeated operating cycles, never isolated watt snapshots.
  • Keep device settings and conditions consistent between the things you’re comparing.
  • Export whatever history exists before resets, firmware updates, or platform migrations.
  • If a second opinion is needed, measure the same normal load sequentially with an independently listed plug-in meter — never stack meters or adapters in one socket.
  • Confirm both instruments’ voltage, continuous-load, motor/inrush, indoor/outdoor, and plug-type limits first.
  • Don’t use the whole-home utility bill as the reference for one plug.
  • Stop using anything that runs hot, smells, discolors, loosens in the outlet, or sparks.

The last line of this paragraph is the only line that is not related to troubleshooting. The ESFI Safety Guidance indicates that heat damage and other forms of damage are the reasons for the plugs being retired, period. The additional line is important to note for another reason; on AVForums, members who post about plugging into their electrical systems request to be able to export the data from the plug into a separate file. Once a record in the meter is deleted, there are no tools to retrieve it. The exported data from the plug will only include the information that it had stored on it; therefore, there is no way to bring back an event that was never recorded by the meter.

The source of utility bills should be highlighted; they total all of the circuits in the house at a given rate, while plugs watch only a single device at a single outlet. For example, a reading from a plug may show an incorrect reading if the device being measured is not the same as what is shown on the total readings for the entire home.

Check the display chain before you doubt the meter — the boring explanations are free.

How to Compare a Smart Plug With Energy Monitoring

Energy Monitoring is written on the box of both plugs, but each will provide an entirely different type of device for energy tracking. The difference is not in their marketing but rather in five specific areas related to each product: Metrics, Refresh/Retention, Export Options, App Visibility, and Load Rating.

Each cell below represents the vendor’s respective current documentation: TP-Link P110M Product Page vs. Tapo Features Document, Emporia Product Page/Platform [Help, and Eve Product Page/App documentation;](https://www.evehome.com/en-us/eve-energy) these come from the vendor’s current documentation – not from actual hands-on testing. Treat this as a Documentation Matrix – not a ‘Determination’.

Tapo P110M (Wi-Fi, Matter) Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plug (Wi-Fi) Eve Energy (Matter over Thread)
Documented readings Real-time power; energy totals; cost from entered rate Real-time power; energy; cost from configured rate Current and total consumption; projected cost; current/voltage optional
Live refresh Every 5 s (Tapo guide) Not stated on product page Not stated on product page
History and retention Hourly/daily/monthly energy views; 5-min or hourly power graph 1-s data ≈3 h; 1-min 7 days; 15-min 1 year; aggregates long-term Graphs by hour, day, week, month
Export Local export documented CSV export documented Spreadsheet export documented
App and ecosystem path Tapo app; Matter-certified; named ecosystems; LAN control claimed Emporia app; Alexa and Google control Eve app or platform energy features; needs Matter controller and Thread border router
US load rating (documented) 100–125 V; 15 A/1,800 W general/resistive; 1/6 HP motor 120 V; 10 A continuous, 15 A peak 1 h/day; 1,800 W 120 V, 60 Hz; max 15 A/1,800 W
Safety listing (documented) Page conflicts: overview says “ETL Safety Certified”; spec table lists RoHS/CE/EAC ETL certified by Intertek 5015249 Vendor states TÜV and UL certified
Account/cloud behavior Not established in cited docs Not established in cited docs Vendor documents no Eve cloud, subscription, or registration

Like the wattage of a device, you should approach the Matter angle with the same level of caution. The CSA’s Matter 1.3 specification allows for devices of any type to use standardised energy reporting methods such as instantaneous power, voltage, current and consumption (over time). This capability does not guarantee that your application will support this function. The independent testing matrix provided by matter-smarthome.de outlines the three gates which need to be passed for a smart plug to work: 1) The firmware installed on the smart plug must be a version of Matter 1.3 or later , 2) The ecosystem must also support it and 3) The application must actually provide the information. Some plugs only allow for the on/off switching of Matter-enabled devices via their own proprietary app, even though they are capable of providing all the above.

Ask these of any candidate, in order:

  1. Does the exact model measure active watts and accumulated kWh natively, or only runtime?
  2. Are voltage, current, apparent power, or power factor exposed if you need them?
  3. What is the exposed live-refresh interval?
  4. What buckets does the history graph actually use?
  5. How long is each resolution retained?
  6. Can you export, and at what resolution?
  7. Does your preferred app show energy, or only on/off control?
  8. Does it need a manufacturer app, account, internet connection, hub, or Thread border router?
  9. Is local, cloud, or subscription behavior documented for that exact product?
  10. What are the region, mains voltage, plug type, continuous rating, peak rating, and allowed load types?
  11. Is the independent safety listing documented for your exact hardware version?
  12. Is it rated for indoor or outdoor use?
  13. For a strip, is monitoring per outlet, grouped, or total only?
  14. For a strip, what maximum load is shared across all receptacles?
  15. Does the appliance’s own manual permit external switching and automatic restart?

This checklist is a practical assessment tool for this guide based on the parameters used to define success in the documentation section: measureable metrics (e.g., number of documents exported), refresh rate and retention rate of exports, application visibility of the exported documents, and the user’s ability to successfully load the exported documents into an application. As such, the checklist cannot be considered to be a laboratory assessment or a certified evaluation.

Unknown means “not established,” not “no” — a blank cell in the documentation is a question to ask the manufacturer, not an answer to assume.

There is one documentation conflict I see worth mentioning: The TP-Link US P110M product information states in the overview section that the plug is “ETL Safety Certified,” yet the same page lists RoHS/CE/EAC in the specifications table. The model number does not provide enough information to determine ETL Certification status; you must check the hardware version’s rating label and manufacturer’s information prior to assuming the product has a certain certification. While you are checking this out, you may want to check the CPSC recall site for the model under consideration, since recall records are associated with hardware versions rather than brands.

If you take 15 minutes to review these documents, you will probably learn much more about this purchase than you would have from the information on the product page.

When a Smart Power Strip With Energy Monitoring—or a Whole-Home Monitor—Is Better

A single plug watches one device. When the question gets bigger than one device, you need a bigger instrument — and each step up trades detail for coverage.

Tool Best for What you give up
Single monitoring plug One plug-in device, full detail Everything else in the house
Smart power strip with energy monitoring Several nearby plug-in devices A shared load ceiling, and sometimes per-outlet detail
Utility’s own data Whole-home totals and time-of-day patterns Device-level detail
Whole-home/panel monitor Every circuit, including hardwired and 240 V Installation work, often by an electrician

When devices are all together in a single area, such as the entertainment center, workbench, and desk, a smart power strip that can track each device’s energy consumption will help manage those devises. However, two important considerations before you put your trust in a power strip that has the ability to monitor energy usage: the way that the monitoring is tracked (either by outlet or the total amount consumed) and how much load the strip has (the total amount of load that the full strip shares). The Kasa HS300 is a great example of this type of power strip. It has six outlets that can each be controlled independently of one another and each has the ability to monitor energy usage by each outlet. However, the maximum that the strip can share across all six outlets is 15 amps or 1,875 watts of energy, it can only be used indoors and it can only supply power to motors that are rated 1/6 hp. Similarly, if you attempt to plug six 5 amp devices into the strip you have 30 amps of usage from a strip with only a maximum of 15 amps.

The maximum load rating isn’t the only important rating to check when looking at smart strips. For example, in March of 2026, the CPSC issued a recall on around 5,500 CCCEI branded power strips that did not include additional overcurrent protection; this poses a serious risk and is very fire prone when a power strip is overloaded. Additionally, the label ratings for many power strips are not just recommendations; power strips that do not have an independent safety listing are not a value.

To determine where your increased electrical use is coming from, take the time to check for free programs offered by your local utility. Many utilities allow you to see what your energy consumption looks like for your entire home on a per-hour or per-day basis. Knowing your entire home energy consumption when crossing the streets to buy any smart strip will help you identify which devices need dedicated power outlets.

For heavy equipment and appliances that operate with hardwired connections (240V) (HVAC, Water Heater, Dryer, Oven), to monitor these items or equipment, the best way is through whole-home or panel monitoring using clamped sensors. In our 2-month study (2020) with Your Best Digs, the panel option was able to track eight independent circuits related to those four items while maintaining device-level accuracy with plug-in monitors. Using a clamp-on panel monitor is the best way to access the hard-wired connections for your home. It requires an electrician to remove the cover from the panel to install the sensors. This type of installation is not a weekend project and requires professional installation.

Buy the instrument whose boundary matches your question — one device, one cluster, one bill, or the whole panel.

For most people the process is straightforward: First see if the utility company has anything that will answer your question. Second, put caps on anything that can be safely plugged in, so you know what you are dealing with. Third, if you still can’t find an answer, then call an electrician.

The Bottom Line on Energy Monitoring

When a smart plug measures one individual plug load — energy consumed, total energy consumed, and cost of energy consumed — it will no longer be a reliable device. Once you start trying to use it as a utility meter, or a report of energy use; or as verification that you saved energy; it will no longer have any value. To ensure the reliability of any particular smart plug you are considering purchasing, or before relying on the measurement it provides, you should first verify all information provided in that specific model’s user manual (it’s recommended to check for refresh rate, retention period, export format, and load rating). You should also confirm that a specific smart plug model does not appear in CPSC’s recall listings, as well as CPSC Report No. 80,000 Emporia plugs were recalled due to poor ground connection; and that it is included in the Matter certified product database. The five minutes spent checking those records will save you from spending one week drawing incorrect conclusions from a graph that does not accurately reflect what it was measuring.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use an energy-monitoring smart plug on a refrigerator, space heater, or air conditioner?

A load type can only be allowed if the specific model documentation allows for such a load type; the headline ampage rating does not grant permission. For example, one of the major plug manufacturers in the USA specifies that their plug is rated at 15 A/1,800 W for a resistive load and only as 1/6 HP for use with motors, while another manufacturer specifies that the same plug must not be used with a refrigerator under any circumstances. It is important to take special care to check both the specifications of the appliance as well as the manual which provides information regarding the actual current drawn during start-up which will be considerably higher than the current drawn when the appliance is operating normally.

Why does my plug show live power but no energy history?

Accumulated kilowatt-hours and live wattage show separate data paths, meaning that if either the firmware or a section of the accumulator is disrupted/blanked out from history, live readings are unaffected. To resolve the situation: you must update your firmware and reset the plug, and allow at least 30 minutes to pass before exporting your current history.

Does the plug itself add to my electricity bill?

Barely, according to Eve and Emporia, the amount of energy being consumed by an appliance will be less than one watt (1W). This will result in an annual cost of approximately $1-2 per year. The energy you consume when you plug something into the wall socket will be much greater than these costs.

Do all monitoring smart plugs need a hub or a subscription?

Tapo and Emporia smart plugs can communicate via a private app over a Wi-Fi network in the 2.4GHz frequency band, while Eve Energy requires a Thread border router and does not require any subscription, registration or connection to the Eve cloud. The exact product page for each vendor will confirm which models are compatible or not.

Marcus Hale

Marcus Hale researches and writes about practical consumer technology, covering computers and hardware, consumer electronics, gaming and eSports, mobile devices and accessories, and smart gadgets. His work focuses on the technical details that affect real-world use, from gaming-laptop performance, PC memory and charging limits to monitor refresh rates, TV input response, mobile accessories, and connected home devices. At The Press Voice, he checks product specifications against manufacturer documentation, relevant industry standards, certification records, and credible independent testing to give readers clear, evidence-based information before they buy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button